top of page

Almost a week

It has been nearly I week since I arrived in Denmark and so far I have loved every moment of it. I have spend a few days this week going to school with my youngest host sister Klara, an interesting experience to say the least. It was very different from Australian schooling here we do not wear a uniform, we stay in the classroom for all breaks and lessons and we call their teachers by their first name in Denmark. Between that I made a few friends this week, Mikkel and Leina were their names. Many of the others were shy to talk to me because they did not want to get their English wrong but after communicating through Klara the first few days we had many fun conversations.

I have really enjoyed walking through the town to the school each morning, the cold has made me appreciate the brilliance of European heating technology. Obviously not something i had put much thought into before now and yet here we are, best friends. Lynge is like the 'winter village' stereotype personified complete with the frosted windows in the morning and all. As of yet it has not snowed but the town is beautiful with many Christmas traditions.

Yesterday as the 1st of December Christmas officially kicked off in Denmark. with the lighting of the town Christmas tree, live Christmas carols, fireworks and an amazing food called Æbleskiver. Which are a delicious cross between a pancake and a yorkshire pudding, served with strawberry jam and icing sugar. I am loving my time here so far, and today we will be driving to Copenhagen to visit one of the Christmas markets.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page